noobserve.blogg.se

Upgrade mac os 8.6
Upgrade mac os 8.6













upgrade mac os 8.6
  1. Upgrade mac os 8.6 mac os x#
  2. Upgrade mac os 8.6 install#
  3. Upgrade mac os 8.6 serial#
  4. Upgrade mac os 8.6 drivers#
  5. Upgrade mac os 8.6 update#

  • Western Digital hard drive (FAT 32 formatted) FireWire: Yes (to my surprise).
  • floppy drive: not as far as I can tell (Steve Jobs hates floppy disks).
  • Upgrade mac os 8.6 mac os x#

    have bugs on Mac OS X that cause problems with most scanners.)

    Upgrade mac os 8.6 drivers#

    (The VueScan people say Note that the drivers for.

  • Microtek ScanMaker E6 SCSI: Yes (sometimes) with VueScan X.
  • Upgrade mac os 8.6 serial#

    Epson 740 on serial printer port: not gonna happen (but it is supported over USB).

    Upgrade mac os 8.6 update#

    (Once you have 10.1 installed, you should update to 10.2 - it works even better.)

    Upgrade mac os 8.6 install#

    The install was very straightforward - I just booted into 10.0 and put in the 10.1 installer disk - that's the CD I leave in now so that OS X will boot.

    upgrade mac os 8.6

    Instead, I suggest you just make aliases to the files and then arrange the aliases however you want. So if you like to move Apple-installed applications around to different folders, you may find that your software doesn't get updated properly. the Applications directory exactly as they were installed, they won't update properly. NOTE: Be aware that all of the Mac OS X updaters are very dumb - if they don't find the files in e.g. Installing 10.1 Installed, Report written This is lame as these games run acceptably using the hardware-accelerated OpenGL in Mac OS 9. So if you were thinking you would get exciting new game performance from the fancy graphics subsystem with Tomb Raider: Chronicles or Oni under MacOS X, instead what you will find is they won't run at all, as they don't find any hardware-accelerated OpenGL. 2) this is the ATI Rage Pro graphics chip, which I have upgraded to 6 MB of VRAM. More Bad News: There is NO hardware driver support for OpenGL on the Beige G3's built-in graphics chip. I have also read suggestions such as turning off dock animation (the thing that makes the icon bounce up and down as the program is loading) and using thousands of colours rather than millions. I added a 128 MB DIMM, so I now have 128 + 64 + 32 = 224 MB RAM. I did some scary root voodoo to try to get it to run an OrangeMicro FireWire driver for my card but that made no difference.

  • LaCie 8/4/32 CD-RW (Plextor mechanism) FireWire: NO.
  • Epson 740 printer on serial printer port: NO.
  • MacOS X 10.0 compatibility report not good: It does seem completely stable for routine web surfing and email (no crashes or panics yet). Then start adding your cards and peripherals back in, and see if they work or need additional drivers. Once you get all the software and things are going ok, you can start putting RAM DIMMs back in their slots (with the machine turned off of course!) and see if everything stays stable. You may need to do multiple Software Updates to get everything completely updated. Also for my configuration, it seems that I need to have the MacOS X CD inserted in my CD drive. It appears that the only consistent way to boot into MacOS X is to use the Startup Disk selector from the MacOS X CD (this is a different version than even the MacOS 9.1 one). If you run into problems, and you find that when it reboots your 2nd IDE/ATA chain (bus 1) doesn't show up at all, zap PRAM by holding down cmd-opt-P-R at boot. I installed it in my 2nd (3 GB) partition.
  • I only installed MacOS 9.1 after MacOS X.
  • Note: Your boot setup (Open Firmware/PRAM) will be modified as part of the install.
  • format 2nd HD (HFS+/Extended) as part of the MacOS X install.
  • Use MacOS X disk utility from Installer menu.
  • repartition 2nd (IDE1) HD into 6 GB and 3 GB partitions.
  • Must install MacOS X in first HD partition.
  • upgrade mac os 8.6

    CD must be Master in order for MacOS X install to boot from CD.remove all attached serial and SCSI devices.You may need to some, none, or all of this.

    upgrade mac os 8.6

  • SCSI - Zip drive, Microtek ScanMaker E6.
  • serial (printer port) - Epson 740 printer.
  • IDE/ATA bus 1 - ID 0 (Master): CD, ID 1 (Slave): 9 GB HD.
  • IDE/ATA bus 0 - ID 0: original internal HD.
  • Revision 2 motherboard - Rage Pro video chip, upgraded to 6 MB video RAM.
  • I was mainly interested to see if I could do my routine web surfing and emailing without crashing (my MacOS 9 configuration is a bit crash-prone). (Once you have 10.0 installed, you should install 10.1 - it works much better.) I have successfully installed OS X 10.2.1 on my Beige G3/233, and I find the performance acceptable for routine tasks like reading email and surfing the web.Īlso please note, I did this a long time ago and I no longer use the Beige G3, so I don't have much knowledge any moreĮven older models than the Beige G3 may be supported using Other World Computing's XPostFacto. Just some clarification: at the start of my message, all of the indented text is quoted from Bryan Walls' message in If you're coming here from Macintouch OS X















    Upgrade mac os 8.6